Carabao Cup draw: When is the EFL Cup draw? Ball numbers confirmed | Football | Sport


The Carabao Cup draw takes place at 7pm on Thursday evening with 70 teams discovering their fate in the first cup competition of the 2019/20 season.

Former John Barnes and Ray Parlour will lead the announcement from the Colindale branch of supermarket chain Morrisons.

The setting is close to Wembley and is being pitched as a “modern day supermarket sweep” at which shoppers can “engage with the competition”.

Seventy teams will be drawn, divided into northern and southern sections.

Lower-division clubs will be aiming to repeat last season’s heroics from Burton, who knocked out Championship Middlesbrough at the Riverside Stadium in the quarter-finals.

, the Premier League’s bottom side last season, will be included, but Fulham, Cardiff and the Premier League clubs they left behind will not join the competition until the second round.

Clubs who are involved in European competitions, such as holders Manchester City, join at the third round stage.

This season’s first round ties are scheduled to take place in the week beginning August 12.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here