Bathurst 1000 live: How to watch, stream, leaderboard, V8 Supercars news 2021


The Bathurst 1000 has started with a series of incidents with cars falling all over the place after one driver suffered an early nightmare.

Australia’s greatest motorsport race is here.

There was huge drama on the opening lap with cars making contact in the opening corners as they raced wheel to wheel.

There were two clear losers at the start with pole-sitter Chaz Mostert surrendering the lead when his co-driver Lee Holdsworth was jumped off the line by Tony D’Alberto.

Stream every practice, qualifier & race of the 2021 Repco Bathurst 1000 Live & On-Demand on Kayo with no ad-breaks during racing. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

James Moffat also suffered a nightmare when he dropped six spots before the lead drivers had climbed to the top of Mt Panorama for the first time.

However, most drivers will simply be content that they all got off the line clean and were able to settle into the race without any crashes.

Big drama as safety car called out

There have been mass pit stops following the first safety car of the race.

Just a few laps after James Moffat and Bryce Fullwood went into the gravel after coming into the chase too hot, Thomas Randle missed the first turn coming from pit straight and thumped into the wall.

Randle was parked in the heavy sand, forcing the first safety car of the race.

As a result of the stops, Lee Holdsworth re-gained the race lead ahead of Garth Tander and Tony D’Alberto.

The frenzy of pit stops turned the race “crazy”, according to the Supercars’ official Twitter handle.

Drivers disqualified pre-race

Usually held in October, the Bathurst 1000 has been pushed back a couple of months due to the effect Covid-19 has had on the Supercars schedule.

Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen has already secured his second Supercars championship, but he’ll be looking to end the year on a high, while his Red Bull teammate Jamie Whincup is desperate for one last triumph at the iconic Mount Panorama circuit before he retires.

Mostert started from pole position after breaking the lap record during Saturday’s Top 10 Shootout.

Mostert drove his Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden Commodore ZB around the Mount Panorama circuit in 2:03.373 seconds to beat the previous fastest lap time of 2:03.481sec set by Scott McLaughlin in 2019.

“I don’t even know what words (to say),” he said after his record-breaking lap.

“It was just so fun.”

Meanwhile, young guns Will Brown and Brodie Kostecki were disqualified from the top-10 shootout overnight for having underweight doors.

“Erebus Motorsport is disappointed to hear the news that after being reviewed by the stewards at Bathurst today, they have been disqualified from this afternoon’s top ten shootout,” Erebus said in a statement.

“After thorough inspection it was found that although the overall can weights were by the book, doors on both the Erebus Holdens were underweight.

“It is a small oversight and honest mistake by the crew who have worked tirelessly for six weeks to ensure they represented the team, its partners, and their fans well.”

Bathurst 1000 starting grid

1) #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Racing

Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth, Holden Commodore ZB

2) #11 Shell V-Power Racing Team

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto, Ford Mustang GT

3) #6 Monster Energy Racing

Cameron Waters/James Moffat, Ford Mustang GT

4) #3 CoolDrive Racing

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard, Ford Mustang GT

5) #888 Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander, Holden Commodore ZB

6) #17 Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison, Ford Mustang GT

7) #8 R&J Batteries Racing

Nick Percat/Dale Wood, Holden Commodore ZB

8) #5 Truck Assist Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Zak Best, Ford Mustang GT

9) #9 Erebus Motorsport

Will Brown/Jack Perkins, Holden Commodore ZB

10) #99 Boost Mobile Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell, Holden Commodore ZB

11) #88 Red Bull Ampol Racing

Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes, Holden Commodore ZB

12) #2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Warren Luff, Holden Commodore ZB

13) #20 DEWALT Racing

Scott Pye/James Golding, Holden Commodore ZB

14) #18 IRWIN Racing

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso, Holden Commodore ZB

15) #39 Supercheap Auto Racing

Broc Feeney/Russell Ingall, Holden Commodore ZB

16) #44 Boost Mobile Racing

James Courtney/Thomas Randle, Ford Mustang GT

17) #7 NED Whisky Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Matt Campbell, Ford Mustang GT

18) #14 Cub Cadet Mowers

Todd Hazelwood/Dean Fiore, Holden Commodore ZB

19) #26 Penrite Racing

David Reynolds/Luke Youlden, Ford Mustang GT

20) #19 Local Legends Racing

Fabian Coulthard/Jonathon Webb, Holden Commodore ZB

21) #34 UNIT Racing

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki, Holden Commodore ZB

22) #96 Coca-Cola Racing

Macauley Jones/Chris Pither, Holden Commodore ZB

23) #35 Yellow Cover Racing

Zane Goddard/Jayden Ojeda, Holden Commodore ZB

24) #4 SCT Logistics Racing

Jack Smith/David Wall, Holden Commodore ZB

25) #22 Team Sydney

Garry Jacobson/Dylan O‘Keeffe, Holden Commodore ZB

Bathurst 1000 recent winners

2020 – Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander (Holden)

2019 – Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat (Ford)

2018 – Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards (Holden)

2017 – David Reynolds/Luke Youlden (Holden)

2016 – Will Davison/Jonathon Webb (Holden)

2015 – Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards (Holden)

2014 – Chaz Mostert/Paul Morris (Ford)

2013 – Mark Winterbottom/Steven Richards (Ford)

2012 – Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell (Holden)

2011 – Garth Tander/Nick Percat (Holden)

2010 – Craig Lowndes/Mark Skaife (Holden)

2009 – Garth Tander/Will Davison (Holden)

– with Matthew Sullivan

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here