Ballon d’Or 2019 results: Lionel Messi beats Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo to gong | Football | Sport


The 2019 Ballon d’Or awards ceremony took place on Monday and Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi pipped Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to the men’s award. USA’s Megan Rapinoe took home the women’s award, beating England’s Lucy Bronze and her international team-mate Alex Morgan. There were also gongs for Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson and Juventus defender Matthijs de Ligt.

Messi won the men’s award for a sixth time, with old rival Cristiano Ronaldo finishing third in the voting.

After picking up the trophy, Messi said: “I would like to thank all of the journalists who voted for me and wanted me to have this prize.

“Thank you so much to my colleagues who have actually contributed a lot to this prize. It is amazing, thank you so much.”

There were six representatives from the Premier League in the top 10 for the men’s trophy, with four from Champions League winners Liverpool.

Reds centre-back Van Dijk says he is proud despite finishing second to Messi.

He said: “It’s been an amazing year, I was close but unfortunately there are a couple of players like him [Messi.]

“I am very proud.”

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson finished seventh in the voting and also claimed the inaugural Yachine Trophy for the best goalkeeper.

Matthijs de Ligt won the Kopa Trophy for the best performing young player, beating England ace Jadon Sancho and Atletico Madrid sensation Joao Felix.

26th – Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

26th – Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)

24th – Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli)

24th – Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (FC Barcelona)

23rd – Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur)

22nd – Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur)

20th – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)

20th – Dusan Tadic (Ajax)

19th – Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

18th – Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona)

17th – Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)

16th – Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

15th – Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax and Juventus)

14th – Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

13th – Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Real Madrid)

12th – Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

11th – Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona)

10th – Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

9th – Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

8th – Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

7th – Alisson (Liverpool)

6th – Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

5th – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

4th – Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

3rd- Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

2nd – Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

1st- Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here